Marquis Theatre: Don’t cry for me (or Evita) in the restroom

Loyal readers know how much I love Broadway, so I made sure to snag tickets to “Evita,” starring Ricky Martin at the Marquis Theatre (Broadway and 46th Street), before the curtain fell for the last time in January. Marquis Theatre bathroom restroom

The posh Marriott Marquis hotel houses the theater; I’d been in there several years ago to eat at the hotel’s lackluster but fun (and gimmicky) revolving restaurant, The View. Sure enough, the restroom outside the Marquis Theatre is posh, too, with more than just the sink counters made of granite. The whole restroom is made of it, or stuff that looks very much like it, from the stall walls to the floor. Hollywood starlet-style light bulbs illuminate a large mirror in the lounge area, which also features a modern, tubular vase filled with grass, a potted plan and framed prints of bucolic scenes at sunset. And the restroom was very clean — so spotless that it almost felt sterile, despite the warm colors and nice decorations. My favorite feature was right outside the restroom: a life-like painting of one of the subway stations in Times Square. I liked that the painting was just a small corner of the station, truncating the word “Subway” so it said “Subw,” so that you felt as if you were looking out a window.

“Evita” was not my favorite Broadway show — I should have done some research on the plot before buying a ticket to a show with a sad ending. Still, I enjoyed seeing a classic musical by master composer Andrew Lloyd Weber, and “Don’t Cry for Me Argentina” was a beautiful song, even though I prefer Weber’s “Phantom of the Opera” score. Ricky Martin could have done a little more dancing on stage, but MA and I agreed that he proved that all fit men should regularly wear 1940s-style long-sleeve henley undershirts (with the sleeves pushed up) and suspenders. Dear goodness.

Restroom Rating: [rating=4]

Marquis Theatre bathroom restroomMarquis Theatre bathroom restroom

1 thought on “Marquis Theatre: Don’t cry for me (or Evita) in the restroom

Leave a comment