Top 5 NYC Restrooms of 2012

It’s that time of year: time to make recap lists. Here are my favorite NYC restrooms that I visited in 2012:

  1. Alice’s Tea Cup (Chapter 1):  I love “Alice in Wonderland,” I love tea and I love a good NYC restroom – what’s not to love about this bathroom, covered with Alice paintings?
  2. Réunion: I felt like I walked into a movie when I entered Réunion, and the beachy restroom kept that up, making me feel like I was on stage at “South Pacific.”
  3. Ace Hotel / The Breslin: In addition to being generally awesome, this NYC restroom also wins for “longest journey to the bathroom” and “best positive declarations.” And did I mention The Breslin serves the best French fries in NYC (thrice-cooked does the trick!).
  4. Trailer Park: Thanks to lots of pink and lots of flamingos, this NYC restroom wins the award for “over-the-top tacky, but it works”
  5. The Bell House: Despite being in dingy Gowanus, Brooklyn, they take bathroom graffiti to whole new level of class here, with shiny concrete walls and only certain areas open to patron “artwork” and musings.

Plus my favorite restrooms “abroad”:

  • El Vez: The restroom at this Philadelphia restroom featured dark blue curtains, photo booth castoffs and a white plastic couch – you wouldn’t expect these to work together, but they do.
  • Mondrian South Beach: Like Las Vegas, Miami does everything a little bigger, a little louder and a little flashier. This bathroom is no exception.
  • Grand Wailea, Guest Room: This bathroom is bigger than my bedroom in NYC, and I miss it terribly – it was gorgeous and relaxing, with a toilet room, a glass shower and a tub. Every now and again, I use some of the honey mango lotion I brought home to take me back to Maui…

And, of course, thanks to everyone who reads the Porcelain Press, whether it’s every time I post, or every now and again when you need a good chuckle. I appreciate it more than you know, and it’s because of you that I’ve reached a whopping 120,000 total hits. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! Happy new year to all of you, and may we have no lousy public restroom experiences in 2013.

(Check back here to see my top 5 list from 2011.)

Leave a comment